pran, on Jul 15 2010, 05:43 PM, said:
The Director is not at liberty even to judge that West had an obvious pass so the difference did not matter, the contestants who should have had a score comparison did not play the board in identical form , period.
Sure they didn't. But as far as I can tell, this does not mean that the Director should
automatically strike out the results on the board.
The Law says merely that the board is fouled - no question about that. Yet in cases where a board is more obviously fouled than this one, adjusted scores have been awarded. For example: a pair goes for 1400 on a part-score deal and when the board arrives at the other table, one of the hands is mysteriously found to contain several boxed cards, rendering normal play impossible at that table. The EBU's White Book says:
White Book said:
If a board is cancelled when it has been played at the other table in a team game then, rather than give an artificial adjusted score, the TD can assign a score if the result at the other table was very unusual, for example if a slam made on very minimum values or missing two aces. Normally this will only be done when the non-offending side has the good score.
Of course there will be times when both sides are non-offending. Such an assigned score should still be given, though a split score is possible, since both sides will be treated as non-offending. The Law permits such an assignment when the good score is obtained by a side that are partly or completely at fault. At time of writing the method of dealing with this is unclear [see the advice in #86.3]. A TD or AC who only applies this Law to benefit a non-offending side cannot be criticised.
The reference to 86.3 is to material supplied by Ton Kooijman, and reads:
White Book said:
When, in team play, a board cannot be played at the table for whatever reason, while it has already been played at the other table, it is possible to deviate from the routine artificial adjusted score. To do this we need an unusual result on the played board. The TD works with a range of normal results on a board, which do not ask for the application of this law. Given the fact that the innocent side will receive some imps anyway (average plus), a couple of undoubled overtricks are not considered to create an unusual result.
When the innocent side received a very good score and the board is made unplayable at this table (by the other side), it is mandatory to give an assigned adjusted score with full weight to this result. Assume that the team that got a good score at one table caused the board to be cancelled at the other; if the TD gives an assigned adjusted score the weight of the good result needs to be small; 30% sounds reasonable.
If the board has to be cancelled because of a mistake at the second table, and the innocent side received a very good result at the first table, it should get full weight. If the offenders received a very good score the weight can be less (50% looks reasonable). And if no side is responsible the weight could be somewhat higher (let us say 60%).
Note: It is not clear that this necessarily follows the interpretations by the WBFLC. However the WBFLC minutes have been changed so the position is unclear.
Now, in the actual case the board was not rendered unplayable at the other table - indeed, it was played at the other table. But to my way of thinking a Director might legitimately reason thus:
the board was played in some form A at the table where North-South made four hearts;
it was played in some form B at the table where East-West made three spades;
no side at either table was responsible for the play of the board in different forms;
so the North-South pair that made four hearts should keep 6 IMPs of the 12 they gained by so doing;
but (as jdonn rightly indicates, although I do not agree with the details of his suggestion) the other side should not lose those IMPs, instead scoring the board as flat (because the board is, in effect, cancelled at that table).
That is, a Director might so reason
if he concluded that the North-South result of plus 620 was in no way due to the fact that North rather than West opened the bidding at that table. From bluejak's original account I conjecture that the Director could not reasonably have reached such a conclusion, in which case the board should simply be cancelled.
The foregoing does not depend on whether the "correct" form of the board was played at bluejak's table or at the other table, since this does not matter: if a board has incorrect (per Law 2) markings as to dealer and vulnerability, it is nevertheless perfectly correct to play it according to the markings that it actually bears.
Moreover, the indications are that the WBFLC doesn't actually know what it is doing, and while that remains the case Directors can pretty much do what they like. Of course they do this anyway, but this time they have an excuse.