• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Pre-empted matchpoints, local club game

#1 User is offline   BunnyGo 

• Lamentable Bunny
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2011-August-15, 21:01

I was playing with an absolute beginner (I taught my younger cousin to play yesterday and we went to a club today). We had the following auction all white:

(3S)-P-(4S)-??

I held:

6, K85, A74, AQ9763

Should I have bid or passed? What if 3 spades had been passed around to me?
Bridge Personality: 44 44 43 34

Never tell the same lie twice. - Elim Garek on the real moral of "The boy who cried wolf"

#2 User is offline   Quantumcat 

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Interests:Archery, classical guitar, piano, watercolour painting, programming, french

Posted 2011-August-15, 21:46

BunnyGo, on 2011-August-15, 21:01, said:

I was playing with an absolute beginner (I taught my younger cousin to play yesterday and we went to a club today). We had the following auction all white:

(3S)-P-(4S)-??

I held:

6, K85, A74, AQ9763

Should I have bid or passed? What if 3 spades had been passed around to me?

Playing with someone who knows what they are doing, you might double (hoping your side can make a five-level contract, or that they can make 4, or that partner wants to pass out a double). Then they might bid 4NT to say "I don't want to pass this out, but then again I don't have a good idea of where we should play" after which you can bid 5. However with your cousin, he would probably bid 5 or 5 with a four-card suit, or he might not recognise when he wants to pass out the double, or he might pass the double out from sheer panic, so passing it out would be better.