Matchpoints.
Before bidding 3NT, South asked West to explain the 2NT overcall; West said it showed clubs and diamonds. The auction continued as shown.
At the end of the play, with North having led face down, East called the TD (me) and noted that the explanation was not accurate. A correct explanation was given, East agreed that this indeed was the partnership agreement, and North declined the chance to change his final pass. The contract went one down.
East had UI from West's mistaken explanation when he chose to bid 4♥. With 6-6 in his suits I have no doubt that he meant to show extra shape by this, but unconsciously he may have realized that 4♥ would help wake partner up. Thus, I thought 4♥ was a logical alternative demonstrably suggested by the infraction.
A quick poll found that pass was dangerously close to a logical alternative, but perhaps not quite. Suggestions included 4♣, doubling 3NT (to ask partner to pick a suit), and a very few did admit to considering passing, but most were adamant (not given the infraction) that bidding on was correct. A considerable number felt they would not have bid 2NT and would never face this problem, but that appears to be the trendy thing to say these days when I present players with a written problem and a request for an opinion.

How do you rule?