South is doing her best in 3♥X after a bidding mishap.
West who doubled already covered the T with Q, almost certainly has the A but might not have J.
South looking at K52 in hand plays 9 from 98 in dummy, East plays 3 in tempo, South plays low and prays: no luck, West confidently covers and leads A.
South sighs and looks at the remaining cards in dummy, but North (who has not quitted his card) quickly interjects "you won the trick in dummy, and that Ace is a penalty card".
The quitted cards are inspected, West did indeed play 7 even though he had obviously decided to play J, as he explains.
West calls Director and explains the above: how do you proceed?
Page 1 of 1
Real life, but worthy of menagerie
#2
Posted 2025-July-06, 15:18
It doesn't matter what he intended to play.
None of the other aspects of law 47 apply to the play of the 7, so that stands and the A is a lead out of turn.
Of course, then you have the issue that dummy isn't allowed to draw attention to this.. but 43B3 doesn't apply because of the silly restriction to A2 only, so dummy is liable to be penalized, but the rest proceeds as per a standard lead out of turn, as far as I can tell anyway.
Quote
47 F 2. Except as this Law specifies, a card once played may not be withdrawn.
None of the other aspects of law 47 apply to the play of the 7, so that stands and the A is a lead out of turn.
Of course, then you have the issue that dummy isn't allowed to draw attention to this.. but 43B3 doesn't apply because of the silly restriction to A2 only, so dummy is liable to be penalized, but the rest proceeds as per a standard lead out of turn, as far as I can tell anyway.
#3
Posted 2025-July-07, 12:23
And if South told you clearly "I was convinced like West that he had played the Jack before leading the Ace and I was about to call hearts from dummy." ?
#4
Posted 2025-July-07, 13:55
That's why the restriction of 43B3 to A2 only is silly; it seems more logical to say play should continue after any breach from dummy.
But it appears that as written, even though dummy wasn't allowed to bring attention to it, the result is attention gets brought to it. And dummy's PP is the only way to compensate..
But it appears that as written, even though dummy wasn't allowed to bring attention to it, the result is attention gets brought to it. And dummy's PP is the only way to compensate..
#5
Posted Yesterday, 10:48
"Dummy's PP" doesn't apply only to dummy.
Attention has been drawn to an irregularity (Law 9) so the director should be called (Law 9 again). The director must rule on the LOOT -- the fact that it was dummy who called attention to it, and that dummy is prohibited from doing so (Law 9 says "may not"; so does Law 43) doesn't change the director's duty.
As has been said, the play of the 7 may not be changed (Law 47). The Ace LOOT becomes a major penalty card (Law 56, Law 50) unless declarer decides to accept it (IMO he shouldn't). The lead is in dummy. Proceed.
Agree with the PP, btw.

Attention has been drawn to an irregularity (Law 9) so the director should be called (Law 9 again). The director must rule on the LOOT -- the fact that it was dummy who called attention to it, and that dummy is prohibited from doing so (Law 9 says "may not"; so does Law 43) doesn't change the director's duty.
As has been said, the play of the 7 may not be changed (Law 47). The Ace LOOT becomes a major penalty card (Law 56, Law 50) unless declarer decides to accept it (IMO he shouldn't). The lead is in dummy. Proceed.

Agree with the PP, btw.
--------------------
As for tv, screw it. You aren't missing anything. -- Ken Berg
Our ultimate goal on defense is to know by trick two or three everyone's hand at the table. -- Mike777
I have come to realise it is futile to expect or hope a regular club game will be run in accordance with the laws. -- Jillybean
As for tv, screw it. You aren't missing anything. -- Ken Berg
Our ultimate goal on defense is to know by trick two or three everyone's hand at the table. -- Mike777
I have come to realise it is futile to expect or hope a regular club game will be run in accordance with the laws. -- Jillybean
#6
Posted Yesterday, 15:34
blackshoe, on 2025-July-08, 10:48, said:
"Dummy's PP" doesn't apply only to dummy.
Attention has been drawn to an irregularity (Law 9) so the director should be called (Law 9 again). The director must rule on the LOOT -- the fact that it was dummy who called attention to it, and that dummy is prohibited from doing so (Law 9 says "may not"; so does Law 43) doesn't change the director's duty.
As has been said, the play of the 7 may not be changed (Law 47). The Ace LOOT becomes a major penalty card (Law 56, Law 50) unless declarer decides to accept it (IMO he shouldn't). The lead is in dummy. Proceed.
Agree with the PP, btw.

Attention has been drawn to an irregularity (Law 9) so the director should be called (Law 9 again). The director must rule on the LOOT -- the fact that it was dummy who called attention to it, and that dummy is prohibited from doing so (Law 9 says "may not"; so does Law 43) doesn't change the director's duty.
As has been said, the play of the 7 may not be changed (Law 47). The Ace LOOT becomes a major penalty card (Law 56, Law 50) unless declarer decides to accept it (IMO he shouldn't). The lead is in dummy. Proceed.

Agree with the PP, btw.
I fully agree that a PP to Dummy is due (this is a "shall not" clause of law and West was an experienced player) although I seem to be in a minority amongst Italian TDs I have questioned

I agree that is is a legitimate to rule this as a simple LOOT and penalize the Ace, proceed

But I also think it is far from the spirit of the Laws, given the situation.
South if asked will to make it clear that without the infraction by Dummy, she would have called trump from Dummy, accepting the LOOT.
Even now, I would agree, TD cannot oblige her to do so.
But could Dummy have been aware at the time of his irregularity that it could well damage the non-offending side?
I would say not only that he could have been, but almost surely that he was was, even if he perceived the other side as offending and damage to them as damage avoided to his own side.
#7
Posted Yesterday, 17:18
Interesting view. I don't think 72C applies.
--------------------
As for tv, screw it. You aren't missing anything. -- Ken Berg
Our ultimate goal on defense is to know by trick two or three everyone's hand at the table. -- Mike777
I have come to realise it is futile to expect or hope a regular club game will be run in accordance with the laws. -- Jillybean
As for tv, screw it. You aren't missing anything. -- Ken Berg
Our ultimate goal on defense is to know by trick two or three everyone's hand at the table. -- Mike777
I have come to realise it is futile to expect or hope a regular club game will be run in accordance with the laws. -- Jillybean
#8
Posted Today, 01:27
Thanks, that was the main question of the post.
Curious to hear other opinions.
Curious to hear other opinions.
Page 1 of 1